SOMEWHERE IS ALWAYS BEAUTIFUL

Architect - February 2008

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

It all starts with a shock a percussion. It happens that the emotion is at the rendezvous, that the magic operates without us knowing why. Reading a work as a whole gives an account of a project; in an exhibition it is the approach, which becomes expression, writing, material, it is this which opens up a world to us. The polysemy of forms is luminous. This is what can be read in Caroline de Boissieu's rich and complex pictorial writing: there is meaning, between air and water, opacity and transparency, all the tensions are present.

The modern world does not stop building categories, boxes, huts, prisons, in which we would have to accept being locked up. Artists are no exception to the rule and very often submit to it, which in a way limits their so-called freedom of expression. The only real freedom would it not be that of being able to say I love, I am touched, I accept this almost animal, primitive emotion that we have learned to distrust ourselves. No emotion, no art, because it seems to me, everything starts there.In front of Caroline de Boissieu's paintings, it is the amplitude of the gesture that carries us along, envelops us in its folds, its layers, its rolls. She does not leave time for reflection, analysis, from the outset you are taken to an elsewhere, a movement, a lightness which will not reveal its depth until much later. Because it is the strength of its constructions, its ability to be on the surface of things while dragging us into the abyss that troubles us and provokes the desire to know more, to get out of appearance, of this first printing to agree to follow it.

This is because the complexity of the process, the one we find in each of Caroline de Boissieu's works, is a palimpsest. This stratification, or perhaps better, sedimentation which we speak of as a simple scratching of parchment is here a long elaboration which hides a desire to disturb the tracks, the confinements: between photography, acrylic, pencil, pastel , all the techniques are called upon to give the project the fullness of its expression, its breath. Because it is this breath so dear to artists from the Far East that we are talking about. All roads contribute to this design, they hide, they lock up their secrets.

This is because the strength of each work is in the discoveries that exploration has in store for us. In this, she joins the great landscape painting, the one in which the gaze circulates. If the emotion is in the immediacy, the approach reveals tensions which under harmless aspects reduce the violence of our world. Here, the apparent lightness gives way to darkness, to the irreducible part of savagery that inhabits men.

If Francis Bacon said “between Matisse and Picasso, I chose Picasso because he was best able to take into account the violence of the world”, in Caroline de Boissieu's work, it is this capacity to see the tearing up to the point of 'to make it unbearable without renouncing that affects us. There is lightness, not cynicism. A look at the world charged with meaning and it is this which appears and constitutes his vision, he constructs his work, gives it its meaning.

So, we can say I like it, because it is beautiful and it is unbearable, this painting has the force of a radical poetry which is revealed slowly it is transparent and opaque, mobile and motionless, cheerful and painful, this tension is there powerful: between shadow and light; between the sky and the ocean. Until the last support, this shiny plexiglass which awaits only one thing, the opacity of time which will be the last alteration of this open work, caught between hope and despair, no. . . . . . . . . . hope, she resists.

Alain SARFATI

IL FAIT TOUJOURS BEAU QUELQUE PART

Architecte – février 2008

Tout commence par un choc une percussion. Il arrive que l’émotion soit au rendez vous, que la magie opère sans que l’on sache pourquoi. La lecture d’une œuvre dans son ensemble rend compte d’un projet ; dans une exposition c’est la démarche, qui devient expression, écriture, matière c’est elle qui nous ouvre un monde. La polysémie des formes est lumineuse. C’est ce qui se lit dans l’écriture picturale riche et complexe de Caroline de Boissieu :il y a du sens, entre l’air et l’eau,l’opacité et la transparence, toutes les tensions sont présentent.

 

Le Monde moderne n’arrête pas de construire des catégories, des boîtes, des cases, des prisons, dans lesquelles il faudrait accepter d’être enfermé. Les artistes n’échappent pas à la règle et, très souvent, s’y soumettent, ce qui d’une certaine manière limite leur prétendue liberté d’expression. La seule vraie liberté ne serait-elle pas celle de pouvoir dire j’aime, je suis touché, j’accepte cette émotion presque animale, primitive dont nous avons appris à nous défier. Pas d’émotion, pas d’art, car me semble t’il, tout commence par là.Devant les tableaux de Caroline de Boissieu c’est l’amplitude du geste qui nous entraîne, nous enveloppe dans ses plis, ses couches, ses rouleaux. Elle ne laisse pas le temps de la réflexion, de l’analyse, d’emblée on est emporté dans un ailleurs, un mouvement, une légèreté qui ne révélera sa profondeur que bien plus tard. Car c’est la force de ses constructions, sa capacité à être à la surface des choses tout en nous entraînant dans des abysses qui nous trouble et provoque l’envie d’en savoir plus, de sortir de l’apparence, de cette première impression pour accepter de la suivre.

 

C’est que la complexité de la démarche, celle que l’on retrouve dans chacune des œuvres de Caroline de Boissieu, relève du palimpseste. Cette stratification, ou peut être mieux, sédimentation dont on parle comme d’un simple grattage de parchemin est ici une longue élaboration qui cache une volonté de troubler les pistes, les enfermements : entre la photographie, l’acrylique, le crayon, le pastel, toutes les techniques sont convoquées pour donner au projet la plénitude de son expression, son souffle. Car c’est de ce souffle si cher aux artistes d’extrême orient dont il est question. Tous les chemins concourent à ce dessein, ils cachent, ils enferment leurs secrets.

 

C’est que la force de chaque œuvre est dans les découvertes que nous réserve l’exploration. En cela, elle rejoint la grande peinture de paysage, celle dans laquelle le regard circule. Si l’émotion est dans l’immédiateté, la démarche révèle des tensions qui sous des aspects anodins amenuisent la violence de notre monde. Ici, l’apparente légèreté cède le pas à la noirceur, à la part irréductible de sauvagerie qui habite les hommes.

 

Si Francis Bacon disait « entre Matisse et Picasso, j’ai choisi Picasso car il était le mieux à même de prendre compte la violence du monde », dans l’œuvre de Caroline de Boissieu, c’est cette capacité à voir le déchirement jusqu’à le rendre insupportable sans renoncement qui nous touche. Il y a de la légèreté, pas de cynisme. Un regard sur le monde chargé de sens et c’est lui qui apparaît et constitue sa vision il construit son œuvre, lui donne son sens.

 

Alors, on peut dire j’aime, car c‘est beau et c’est insupportable, cette peinture a la force d’une poésie radicale qui se dévoile lentement elle est transparente et opaque, mobile et immobile, gaie et douloureuse, cette tension est là puissante : entre l’ombre et la lumière ; entre le ciel et l’océan . Jusqu’au dernier support, ce plexiglas brillant qui n’attend qu’une chose, l’opacité du temps qui sera la dernière altération de cette œuvre ouverte, prise entre l’espoir, et le désespoir, non . . . . . . . . . . l’espoir, elle résiste.

 

Alain SARFATI

 

 

  • Instagram
  • Caroline de Boissieu
  • Caroline de Boissieu

© Caroline de Boissieu - 2019